top of page
  • atconstructiverest

Coming Home To Yourself - "Connecting to the World Around You"

Updated: Feb 7, 2021

Many of us go through the day feeling as though we’re being pushed or pulled by external forces. The agenda of the day, the expectations of others, the constant noise and stimulation of a fast-paced society—it’s no wonder that most of us feel heavy, tired, and pulled down. The world around us can feel exhausting!


Take a moment to consider: How do I react when the world around me feels like too much? For me, I feel frantic. I avoid my feelings, put off things that I know are good for me, and numb myself with mindless scrolling or endless media consumption. My shoulders become tight. I hold my breath. My mind is scattered, or else fixated on controlling the details around me. I am busy and disconnected from my senses.


Your reaction to over-stimulation may feel much different than mine. Take note of what disconnection feels like for you, and some of the ways that it manifests in your life.


Now think of what it feels like to be connected to the world around you. When have you felt most connected in your life? What does connection feel like in your body? For me, I feel open and curious when I am connected to the world around me. My senses come alive, and I am aware of the space I embody. I feel engaged, calm, and content. I feel this way when I am walking in nature, creating or conversing in a meaningful way, or taking time to rest.

Noticing the play of light on these water droplets helped me to feel more connected to the world on a day that felt busy and stressful.


When we learn to recognize connection, we learn how to cultivate it in our lives. We can also learn to recognize the symptoms of disconnection early, so that we make time to reconnect to ourselves and the world around us in purposeful ways. If we take care of ourselves in this manner, we are more able to show up for the people and causes in our lives that we care about. Constructive rest is a wonderful way to cultivate connection in our lives. We use our time in constructive rest to quiet our habitual reactions, undo excess tension, and encourage freedom and vitality in our movements. As you practice this week, notice how your time in constructive rest affects the rest of your day. Perhaps by making the choice to connect to yourself, you are changing more of the world than you think.

Kateri & Alexandra


Comments


bottom of page