top of page
  • atconstructiverest

Rest Up! - "Play & Process"

Updated: Feb 7, 2021

Allow us to be indirect… Q&A with Kateri and Alexandra!

This week our lie-down is all about curiosity and play--using play as part of the process of learning. So, we decided to open up a bit about our own individual processes of learning, growing, and playing!


When we focus too heavily on our product, we often miss opportunities for growth or insight. When we allow ourselves to play, using ease and enjoyment in the process, we open ourselves up to a world of possibilities. Playing with easy movement during constructive rest can often lead us to choose play in other aspects of our life.


Playing with the eyes and the rotation of the head with arms in "forked" position.

Q&A

What is something you recently learned to do?

K: This summer I relearned how to ride a bike. It had been around 15 years since I was last on a bike, and I was really nervous. My biggest break-through came when I allowed myself to enjoy the balance of the bike, instead of gripping for dear life!

A: I’ve been learning how to properly care for my many houseplants, including how to re-pot them. It’s taken a lot of trial and error - so much error - but I get really excited when I see new growth.

Name one thing you would like to be reminded of every day.

K: That everything is temporary. It helps me to practice gratitude, and to not get too narrow-minded when I am frustrated or upset. Since everything is temporary, I can choose to just do the next best thing in each moment.

A: One thing I would like to be reminded of every day is that there is no “correct” timeline. Things take the time that they take, even when I wish they would happen faster or differently. It’s never too late to change directions, let go of something, or learn something new.


When do you allow yourself to play?

K: I really let myself play when I am practicing singing. This was not always the case, (believe me!) but I now allow myself to be more curious and playful in my voice studio. I like to make up games for myself with movement and sound, and see where it takes me.

A: Whenever I remember that I'm allowed to make the choice to be playful!



We hope you enjoy your own process this week!


Kateri & Alexandra


Playing with the rotation of the forearms, the "Queen's Wave."







Comments


bottom of page